History of the Department of materials technology

The Department of Mechanical Technology (dep. heads: Ferenc Molnár and Dr. Tibor Lontai) was among the founding departments of the Vocational Institute of Mechanical Engineering, which was established in 1964.  Among the main goals of the department, which resided in today’s Building 10, were education of industrial technology (machining not included), R&D management, and also fulfilment of industrial assignments. These projects considered to be very important and relevant, as the industry of the region underwent a significant development at that time.  Young technicians as well as the services of the engineers in the vocational institute were required.

The department obtained its present form in 1969, when the vocational institute was renamed as Technical College of Mechanical Engineering and Automatization (also known as GAMF). The original department was parted in three units, which later became Department of Automatization in Mechanical Engineering (dep. head: Dr Tibor Lontai), Department of Mechanical Technology (dep. head: Imre Karsai), and Department of Plastics Processing Technology (dep. head: Dr. Imre Csikai).  The Department of Mechanical Technology and the Department of Plastics Processing Technology settled in Building 9. The technologies of plastics processing are up to this day educated in this building, which was later renamed after Gyula Hardy. The educational profile of the department is unique:  in Hungary mechanical engineers in plastics processing have been qualified only in this department for decades.

In 1974 the Department of Mechanical Technology moved in Building 7, which now bears the name of the distinguished professor, Béla Zorkóczy.  The main goal of the department has since then remained the practice of metal processing technologies (machining not included), and in general, practice of mechanical technologies. Main courses of the department were structure of materials (today known as knowledge of materials), welding, heat treatment and metal forming processes. In the recent years several aspects of quality control are taught in the department, focusing on theory and practice of materials analysis. The aforementioned courses were lectured also in German and in English for the German, English, Turkish students, who participated in inter-institutional or in TEMPUS cooperation; they were facultative for Hungarian students. The yearly average of thesis submitted in the department was 15-20, but before the elimination of the materials technology specialisation this number was 30-35.

The heads of department:

1969-1975: Imre Karsai metallurgical engineer

1975-1987: Dr. Sándor Kapitány, mechanical engineer, candidate of technical sciences

1987-1991: Dr. József Danyi mechanical engineer, candidate of technical sciences

1991-1997: Dr. Mária Fazekasné Berta, mechanical engineer

1997-2000: Dr. József Danyi, mechanical engineer, candidate of technical sciences

From 1 January 2000 GAMF (regaining its original name) is the technical faculty of College of Kecskemét.  After the department was reorganised, and merged with the former Department of Plastics processing technology, it was renamed as Department of Materials Technology, and bears its name up to this day. The knowledge of plastics and metals, the plastics and metal technologies were educated by the teachers and fellow workers of the former two departments. Their responsibilities also included R&D&I activities in the fore mentioned areas.

Until 2014, in the course of its 50 years existence the department has undergone large number of considerable developments. As a result, it is now well equipped on a high technical level. Among others, renewed were:

  • the welding shop (consumable electrode and tungsten welding machines, modern preparatory workstations and exhaust system, central gas supply system),
  • the accredited materials testing laboratory with calibrated material testing equipment,
  • the sheet testing laboratory equipped with special sheet testing device,
  • and the microscope laboratory (high definition automated microscopes, spectroscopy),


The students of this department were participating in the researches and also wrote several theses in the frame of the Scientific Students Association (see Scientific Students Association). Some of these students achieved first, second, and third place on the National Conference of Scientific Students Association (OTDK), and some of them were awarded with special awards.


The Mechanical Technology metal community was in extensive partnership prior to the end of socialism with many of the industrial corporations in the region and beyond. These corporations were reorganised in the 1990s. The main business partners of the department included the factory „Reszelő gyáregység” of„Kéziszerszámgyár” in Kecskemét (later „HILTI Szerszám Kft”),factory  „Budapesti Rádiótechnikai Gyár” (BRG),company „Mezőgép” (later „Agrikon Kft"), company„Axon Kft”, company„BOSAL KFT”, company„Fémmunkás” (later „TRAVERZ Kft”), factory of „Kéziszerszám Gyár” in Szeged,  Factories of „Zománcipari Művek” in Kecskemét and in Budafok

, company„Tata Hűtőtechnika Kft”, factory„Vasöntöde és Tűzhely Gyár „(in Salgótarján), etc. Most of these industrial partners are still in strong business connection with our department.

The new developments in the automotive of the region helped the establishments of new industrial partnerships for the department.  In the recent years a number of automotive projects were delivered (in the frame of Social Renewal Operation Programme), for example “TÁMOP 4.2.2.A-11/1/KONV-2012-0029” project: „Materials development in automotive: aimed basic researches in the field of forming, heat treatment and welding”, or TÁMOP Project: Development tendencies and application possibilities of sheet materials in automotive.

Our teachers contributed to the development of automotive qualification with the following works:

Dr. József Danyi – Dr. Ferenc Végvári: Vehicle manufacturing and maintenance. Electronic course book (2010)

Dr. József Danyi – Károly Kardos – Dr. Ferenc Végvári: Metal forming. Electronic material. Bulk forming module (2011)